Freedom . . . .

28 May

DSCF7119So, Bessie is gone to a new family in Essex… and my own adventure continues, with the arrival of a sexy red Kawasaki. I didn’t pass my motorcycle test when I first started riding, so I have that delight to get through. For me, though, living on my own means that a motorcycle (albeit learner legal)  is just fine to get around on.

So, here we go on another adventure. I still want to put on a seatbelt every time I get on, I haven’t quite got back the ability to lean into the corners, and I am fully aware that sitting on a motorbike seat for several hours is going to hurt. And that falling off a motorbike seat is going to hurt even more. So, no, I don’t feel entirely safe. But life isn’t about feeling safe. Life’s about the joy, the thrill, the excitement, the passion. If I was all about feeling safe, I wouldn’t have left a perfectly good well paid job to become a speaker, author and leader. If I was all about feeling safe, I wouldn’t have jumped out of a perfectly good aeroplane. If I was all about feeling safe, I wouldn’t have thrown myself, snowboard attached, off a perfectly solid mountain. If I was all about feeling safe, then a few years back I wouldn’t have got out of a perfectly safe car and gone dancing. If I was all about feeling safe, I wouldn’t have put all my stuff into storage and travelled the world.

So, I don’t know where this latest adventure will take me. Not into casualty, I pray. And nowhere particularly fast, yet (the carburettor needs work, I think). But it gives me back something I’ve lacked over the last few months. Something that I’ve missed desperately. Something that’s one of the highest in my list of values – and perhaps something that we take for granted.

Freedom.

So, I’m looking forward to a new freedom – freedom to go where I want, to see friends, to dance, to see some of this beautiful countryside. And I’m reminded again that I do have the freedom to make my own choices and to do what I choose to do. And for that – well, I am truly thankful.

2 Responses to “Freedom . . . .”

  1. Mark H May 29, 2012 at 1:12 pm #

    you don’t lean into corners Tim, you need to countersteer and that will allow the bike to lean in. Join us at the TT next week 😉

    • Tim Hodgson May 29, 2012 at 6:03 pm #

      ’tis true – which is of course true whatever two wheeled transport you’re used to (although not quite as noticeable on a bike…) but not always easy to remember that it’s what’s supposed to happen!

Leave a Reply

