It’s Christmas Time in Tas. No, really, it is….

21 Dec

Well, I’ve taken a very relaxed few days to catch up with stuff – and to start preparations for new programmes, workshops and stuff that will start to pour out next year. Some very exciting things planned – and I promise you’ll be amongst the first to hear about them.

So, Christmas in Tasmania. It’s very odd. Christmas decorations are up – but they don’t seem to make an impact. Perhaps it’s just too bright (although there’s been a lot of rain lately) – they don’t light them like we do in the UK – no point, as it isn’t dark until 10:00 at which point no-one is checking the lights out.

I did go down to ‘Carols on the Bay’ at the weekend – a cross between a carol festival and a music festival where everyone brings a picnic while wearing a santa hat and carrying candles. I’m struggling with the whole ‘wrong time of year’ thing! Sandy Bay (where it was held) is a nice part of Hobart – although a monumental navigational error meant it took me twice as long as it should have to walk back.

Sandy Bay (3)P1030669

P1030667

And the whole lunar eclipse passed me by – Hobarts hills, mountains, and cloud cover defeating me completely!!

And I spent a pleasant Saturday wandering the market at Salamanca Square, where I came across a jolly good Irish band

Salamanca Sq (3)

And this chap, who did, as promised, throw a card on top of an adjoining roof (not as easy as you might think) and did a most excellent mind reading trick that has me foxed – seems like a forced number trick but I can’t quite work it out! He was staying at the hostel with me so it was kinda cool to watch him for a while!

P1030650

And Tigger has now been rejoined by Snuff. After posing by this memorial to Abel Tasman in Salamanca Square, Snuff promptly fell in the fountain.

Salamanca Sq (13)P1030672

And, finally – I liked this sign…outside ‘Fish Frenzy’ – great fish and chips apparently, but I had mine from the fish punt in the harbour at half the price, and sat and watched the world go by….P1030671

Next stop Melbourne….

Leave a Reply

