Arriving…

13 Jul

… and already the plans are shot to pieces

I left at 10:00 in the morning – and arrived at 7:00 at night.  Sounds OK until you realise that Hawai’i is 11 hours behind the UK – so I have been travelling for around 18 hours or so.  Not as bad as some of my fellow travellers from across Europe who seem to have been travelling for weeks.

I arrived into monsoon like conditions into the prettiest airport I have seen – none of these glass and metal constructions – beautiful little huts housing the gift shop and ticket desk.  Realising that i would never make it to the hostel that evening, I decided to stay over in Kailua Kona instead. Exhausted and a little lonely, I fell into bed wondering…

What would the next day bring?

2 Responses to “Arriving…”

  1. Sue Gorringe July 13, 2010 at 8:18 pm #

    Lucky you, a place you may never have seen, never feel lonely we really are there for you Tim. Think of me… it feels like monsoon here, still quite warm and the heavens have opened but I’m in a classroom with 29 children… who all really want to be on holiday now and I’m doing my best to keep them going for the next 9 days!! x

  2. Nikki Rose July 14, 2010 at 9:14 am #

    Oh, Tim!
    The best laid plans – and all that…!
    Yes, we had a similar experience getting to L.A. – via an unplanned stop at Washington – ended up being almost 24 hours of travelling, but it hadn’t dawned on us how long it would be with the time differences :o/ Doh! But hey, it’s all part of the adventure!! :oD
    Make sure you try and catch up on your sleep…
    Nikki xx

Leave a Reply

